A Thin Yellow Sky (Notes on Writing 1)

 

Phyllis Nissila

 

UPDATE: I’VE CREATED A NEW BLOG JUST FOR WRITING PROMPTS. THIS POST APPEARS THERE WITH A NEW SLANT. I INVITE YOU TO HOP ON OVER AND READ IT AND A FEW OTHERS POSTED TODAY, AND TO USE THE SITE IF YOU NEED A “WRITER’S BLOCK BUSTER” FROM TIME TO TIME! http://writingpromptstogo.wordpress.com/

INTRODUCTION

Many mornings I think about how to describe the kind of yellow that stains the sky right around commute time in the fall and winter months. It’s a thin, cold hue with an industrial feel.  It’s the sound of a sheet of pale tin whooping in the wind. It’s a color that leaves me apprehensive.

It’s been years since I began trying to describe it, and I still don’t have it right. Maybe tomorrow morning will be the morning. I don’t even know where I’ll use the description, yet. Maybe I won’t. Ever. Maybe it will just get me closer to my future better-writer self. It’s definitely a work in progress…

LET’S GET STARTED! 

I’ve been thinking about starting a “Notes on Writing” page on this blog but not with the usual advice. Attending to punctuation, spelling, sentence variety, and the other mechanics of good writing is important but won’t show up much here. For example, for this very first “Notes” I invite you to describe a sky that intrigues you, a memorable sky. Here are some prompts to stir the muse:

Is it a morning, mid-day, or evening sky?

What season?

What shape and color is it?

What does it sound like?

What emotion(s) does it prompt?

It could be the usual flourish of a sunset or maybe a sky studded with unusual, whispy, or even grotesque clouds.

Share your efforts here if you like. (And maybe a photo to go with.) .

Enjoy.

This entry was posted in most recent posts, Notes on Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

